The 5 Solas For Protestants

The 5 Solas For Protestants

The 5 solas (from Latin; alone or solely) of the Reformation constitute a set of Biblical principles put forth by the leaders of the Protestant Reformation of the 1500s. The Solas were put forth as a refutation of the teaching of the Catholic Church.

The 5 solas of the Reformation are:

  • “Sola Scriptura” (Scripture Alone),
  • “Sola Gratia” (Grace Alone),
  • “Sola Fide” (Faith Alone),
  • “Solus Christus” (Christ Alone), and
  • “Soli Deo Gloria” (To God Alone Be Glory).

The problem is that we do not put enough emphasis on these solas and their meaning. As a basis of belief, these solas are very helpful:

  • Scripture Alone,
  • Grace Alone,
  • Faith Alone,
  • Christ Alone, and
  • To God Alone Be The Glory.

Seems like a pretty solid foundation to me. In the next few days, I would like to go through each one of theses solas and discover their meaning as well as how we can live this out as Christians.


Gracious Father, help us to understand You, Your word, and Your ways. We want to honor You and to know You. In Jesus name, amen.

1 Year Bible Reading



Thank you for reading The Simple Christian Life. Please feel free to express your thoughts and opinions by leaving a comment! Simply Following Jesus In Spirit & In Truth. THOT 4 2 Day is a regular part of this site. The 5 Solas For Protestants.